Yoga and Ding Dong Ditch

After my cookie filled week last week, I have been searching for new ways to work out. I am looking for something that will let me stretch out my always tight muscles and provide some stress relief. Last summer I was running and walking with Harley. He is happy to go out for walks in the winter when it is 10 degrees outside, but once it gets over 75 degrees, he usually runs in the other direction when it is walk time. I wonder if it is just too hot for him. This summer when it was so stifling hot, I just stayed inside and hid. Once it cooled down to the 90’s, I started doing Boot camp and started walking again. I have not felt like running this year. Part of boot camp is running several laps around the track and I was loathing that part of the sessions. So, running on any regular basis was out this year. Up until last week, my neighbor and I were working out in the yard and doing boot camp like activities like this. Now that it is getting cold and rainy, that has to come to a close as well. So, I have been searching for something that I can do inside and that I can look forward to. Lets face it, if it’s not fun, I won’t do it. This is evidenced by the treadmill that is stuck in my basement in the extra room that also is piled high with board games we never play and magazines we never read. *sigh*  The treadmill is so lonely down there.

Harley and I should be going here to the park more. How relaxing!

I have been thinking about yoga for several weeks. I used to do Pilates back in high school and loved it. I am not sure why I quit. The nice thing about yoga is that I can do it at home, I already have space and a yoga mat, and really don’t need anything else. The other nice thing is that there is a yoga studio down the road from my office and I could totally stop by there after work if I wanted to. I have never been there, but I am intrigued. So, I think yoga it is. I was going to start today, but it was such a nice day outside that Harley and I went for a walk. He was getting a little stir crazy after being cooped up in the house all week due to all the rain.

Notice the trees are almost bare. *sigh*

On a completely different note, our neighborhood is doing a little game called “ding-dong ditch” where you leave a bag of candy and picture of a ghost on someones doorstep, knock and run away. The person who has the stuff left on their doorstep then has to pick two houses to leave more candy and ghost pictures. It was my turn last night and I realized I have never rang someones doorbell and then run away. I picked my next door neighbor (who was having a party at the time…great timing don’t you think) and someone way down the street. Apparently Nathan and Harley were sitting on my deck watching me run all over the neighborhood, knocking on doors and then hiding in the bushes until the people came out and saw their bags of candy. At first, I couldn’t pick which house to prank. It seemed everyone was sitting in their living room looking out onto the road. By the end of the night, I was giggling in the dark in the bushes. Harley was ready to out me as well because as I made my way back to my house, Harley was whimpering and running along the fence line after me. I have decided that maybe I should just ring every doorbell in the neighborhood and run away, it was so fun. They have created a monster!

In the middle of the summer we had our doorbell rang at 2 am on a work night several times. We always get out of bed and go to the door in case it is our neighbors having an emergency with the kids or something. We were not happy to get out of bed and find no one at our door. So, Nathan has disabled our doorbell. You can still hear it click when someone pushes the doorbell, but it doesn’t ring, so if we are in bed, no one will wake us up. If the neighbors had an emergency, we have told them to knock.  I always thought that the doorbell ringers were children in the neighborhood and I couldn’t figure out why it would be fun for them to ring doorbells. Now, I know…..it is REALLY FUN!

Small things provide the most fun sometimes.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in fall, Harley, workout and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

