American cheese and spoiled boy

Lets talk about  cheese. At our house, we like our cheese. Sharp cheddar, mozzarella, gouda to be exact. Even the shredded cheeses have a place at our house. We usually go for the block variety and then slice our own. Harley will occasionally get small pieces of string cheese or cheddar with pills. It has gotten to the point that when you get out cheese, Harley will come running to get his share.  We were at my mom’s house a few weeks ago, and he needed to have some Benadryl for his itchy skin. I rummaged through my mom’s fridge for cheese. The only thing they had was American prepackaged slices. Wouldn’t you know that Harley would not eat that cheese. He would sift through the cheese and swallow the pill but leave the cheese. He didn’t realize that the cheese was meant to HIDE THE PILL!

Always available for cheese disposal!

Luckily, mom’s two dogs went ahead and got rid of the evidence before I had to explain why my spoiled dog was to good for her cheese.

The cheese thing doesn’t convince you that Harley is a spoiled boy? How about this.  Last night I got home from work and it was a cold blustery day. The wind was howling, the temperatures were about 30 degrees and it was sprinkling. It was the perfect time to lay on the floor with Harley in front of our portable heater  (that I got for my birthday) and cuddle. We laid there for about an hour before I got up to take a shower. I commented to Nathan that Harley must be cold (which is really not the case because he lies on the deck in sub-zero temperatures all winter). I put my blanket on him and left. I came back about an hour later, and there he was, sleeping soundly under his nice cuddly blanket. Such a little cuddle monster.

 

Momma, stop with the pictures, I am so sleepy.

 

Back to bed I go.

 

 

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

