Kitchen makeover

Hi all. I have finally finished my kitchen re-organization that I started on vacation. I had the room all done, but I needed to rearrange everything before I took the final picture. It’s funny how things seem so similar but feel so different when you are actually in the room.

pre mini makeover

Here is my kitchen pre make-over. I liked it over the summer, but it has been this color for over 2 years, and I needed something lighter and brighter. It has no windows and is very small so sometimes it feels like a hole. So, I decided to paint it a nice light shade of beige. The color below looks a little dark. It really isn’t quite this dark and it looks a little brighter than it does in the picture.  My house is a raised ranch which is a very popular floor plan in this area. The kitchen was a hard room to redo because it is small, it flows into the dining room and living room, and doesn’t have much space to actually move anything around.

Nathan and I put 2 coats of “Sands of Time” paint from Valspar on the walls, rearranged the countertop appliances, thoroughly cleaned every surface, and put up a shelf. It’s amazing how small things really make a big difference. It’s very odd how different the kitchen looks to me, even though the paint color is the same color as the rest of the living room. It is oddly strange yet familiar. Weird.

The difference is subtle. I added a shelf on the wall above the bar.  Here is how this looks.

Of course we have to have a place for Harley treats so he gets 2 (I said it…TWO!) containers for different treats. It green container on the right is for Splenda for the coffee :).  I got the three owls at Pottery Barn and while they were a splurge, I really like them.

Harley seems to really like the change. Here he is in his favorite spot. You will find him here whenever anyone even thinks about going into the kitchen. You pretty much trip on him when you are cooking. He doesn’t care though, and will not move an inch unless you get pretty firm. *He’s not spoiled at all….NOOOO*

In my next house, our kitchen will be HUGE and all my dishes will be in one space.   AAAHH, a girl can dream, right?  It seems around the time that the holidays are coming up, I start to get a little bored with my current digs and start needing a space to house all the holiday decorations I have, and family for all the dinners that I want to cook.

Does anyone else have this problem and around what time of year does it hit for you?

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

