Fall and fun things

Greetings on this cold morning

I just wanted to pop in for a bit. I am glad to say that I am enjoying my first day of vacation. I usually take two weeks of vacation a year (I get 4 weeks off per year, but apparently I am stock piling vacation time at work). Once at the beginning of the summer so I can get my garden all situated and enjoy all the sun and warm temperatures after a long winter, and one in the end of September to celebrate the hubs and my anniversary. I had planned on going to “The Shack” which is a cool little get away about an hour away, but I never got the gumption to actually call and get a reservation. My mom bought us a gift certificate to this place 1 year ago for our last anniversary and we have never used it. Note to self….use the gift certificate and have some fun! One of the major drawbacks is that they do not allow dogs, so we would have to drop Harley off at the in-laws, which makes it much more difficult to go away. How could we live without this face?

What, you might be leaving me?!?

Today the hubs was supposed to go to a snowmobile race today and it was going to be very cold and rainy so I declined to go. I had high hopes of repainting my kitchen and redecorating for fall. I was literally up most of the night thinking about all the ways to make this place super cutsie. I woke up bright and early, super cleaned the kitchen (we apparently had dishes that were trying to overtake the house), did some laundry, and took most of the canning supplies back down to the basement to store for the winter. That is where I came to a screeching halt. Nathan’s dad called and said that maybe they would go to the races tomorrow since it was so rainy, and who wants to paint the kitchen on their first day of vacation when the hubs is going to be home?  So, here I am just sitting here in my jammies at 2pm surfing the internet and doing a lot of nothing. I seem to get very excited when vacation time comes, and I plan for lots of projects around the house and then once I have to go back to work, I am more exhausted than when I stated vacation. On the list for this week is to repaint the kitchen, redecorate the bedroom, paint the basement trim and doors so I can get carpet installed, pick out carpet for the basement, take down the garden, and clean out the front flower garden. Does anyone else go overboard on vacation?

Harley hiding from the scary bees under the computer desk

We did have some excitement though. Nathan stretched out our grill cover on the deck to dry before he put the grill away for the summer. Harley was acting very weird on the deck a little later, and then suddenly ran downstairs and started rubbing his nose in the grass. Low and behold, there were a small nest of wasps on the deck on the grill cover and apparently Harley got a little too close for comfort. The poor boy was not happy about this turn of events, and subsequently went into hiding mode while Nathan had to be the man of the house and dispose of the nest. Good thing they were slow due to the cold, or we could have had an issue.

He recovered pretty quickly though

I have been contemplating selling our house and buying a house closer to my work, or staying in this house and remodeling the basement to add more space. Right now, the basement is more of a catch-all hiding place than anything else. Brand new houses always seem more fun than fixing up the one you already have. I am in need of some serious motivation. Where do you get your house decorating ideas?

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fall and fun things

  1. Charlton Estate Trust says:

    He is a happy dog!

Leave a Reply

