Covert Ops

It has gotten so chilly here overnight, literally.  It went from 87 degrees on Friday midafternoon to 50 degrees Friday after work. It has been under 50 degrees and overcast all weekend. It was the perfect time to get the rest of the tomatoes out of the garden and make tomato sauce. I have never made tomato sauce, but I didn’t want to make any more salsa, and I ran out of lemon juice so I could can any more tomatoes. So, I researched all the ways to make tomato sauce. I blanched all the tomatoes, put them in a pot, and started simmering. Let me tel you, apparently I cannot make tomato sauce. That sauce simmered for about 4 hours, and very little progress was made. I finally stopped at about 10pm last night. I did save the result though so I can try to salvage it. I don’t think it is a lost cause, just not right the way it is. On another note, Harley is still sneaking into the garden. I caught him in the act. Nathan bent a part of the fence when he was mowing the lawn a couple of days ago and tried to straighten it. Apparently, it was an open invitation to take a leisurely stroll through the garden. Look how sneaky he is just surveying the fence while I was in the garden yesterday.

Then he saw me looking.

Act natural!

Then, in front of me, he made his move.

Apparently I do not strike fear into his heart the way his daddy does. Anyway, once he was in, he thought he would just settle in a bit.

Apparently rules are meant to be broken!

He knows he is not supposed to be in there, which makes it all the more cute. Don’t tell him…he is in trouble!  I finally had to yell at him cause, you know… give him an inch and he will take a mile and all.  He made a run for it.

But no matter what, you cannot outrun the shame

Sorry momma….can I have another tomato?

How can you be mad at this face? Honestly?

I learned my lesson, seriously I did

I let him off with a warning, but later, what did I see?  You guessed it.

Who, me?

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Covert Ops

Leave a Reply

