Weekend roundup

Hello all. I hope you are enjoying your Friday night and your week went well. Mine was a fun-filled week at the hospital. It was going very well until Thursday when the hospital decided to renovate the floors. FYI: I do not like change. I also do not like my patients changing rooms every time I turn around. It put me in a funk, let me tell you. Today the day went better and I ended up in a Tobacco meeting and now all I can think about is tobacco. Let me explain. I work in a pulmonary office and so I am attempting   starting a new clinic. I am pretty naive when it comes to starting up new adventures. I always think it will be much easier than it is. I think “just start it up” but apparently there are business decisions to be made, budgets to fight about, and wouldn’t you know it, not everyone agrees with how I want to do things. I swear if the world was run by me, things would go much smoother. So, tonight I have been mulling over my plans on how I want to start up this bad boy, and I am thinking that I am not going to be able to sleep tonight. Great.  Good thing I have the boy to keep me company. Although he has not been much help lately. He realized that he can get into my garden and now all he does is eat tiny tomatoes….Wonderful. Look how happy it makes him though

He is flippin adorable.

 

I have also been making applesauce. I bought a bushel of apples about 2 weeks ago and they have been just hanging out in my basement while I have been busy doing this business. So, now, I have been slowly tackling the apples. Not to mention the rest of the tomatoes. But I digress. If you are in the business of making applesauce, you definitely need one of these. It is a godsend. It peels, it cores, and it slices apples into tiny thin spirals so that you can bake an apple pie all fancy like just in time for fall. Trust me….GET ONE!  I did 1/2 a bushel of apples and baked the applesauce in under 60 minutes. It was heaven. And now I have lots of pint jars just glistening on the countertop. In case you don’t know, applesauce is the easiest thing to do. Just core and peel the apples, put them in a tall stockpot, add about a cup of water or apple juice, and let cook on medium for about 15 minutes until the apples start falling apart. Stir occasionally. Add sugar to taste if you are into that sort of thing. I always add cinnamon and nutmeg to taste as well because it adds just that hint of fall that I look forward to all year. Then put in the jars to can, or refrigerate. See. Easy.  So, get crackin’. Have a happy weekend.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

