Wonderful Salsa

Boy have I had the day today.  I woke up early this morning after coming home super late last night from the in-laws and what did I see when I stumbled out to the kitchen but a whole heap of tomatoes. I thought about those tomatoes for the entire day until about 3pm. Then I decided that instead of just canning tomatoes, I would make more salsa. I ended up spending the entire afternoon making salsa and finally ended up with 18 quarts of salsa just pinging away on my countertop. My, that is a beautiful sound.

Isn’t it funny that recipes make their way around the internet. It used to be that a recipe was passed down from mother to child, grandmother to grandchild. They were cherished possessions to be guarded lest someone else steal your thunder and make your famous cake recipe. Now, peopel place recipes on the internet for the entire world to see without batting an eye. Sometimes I am glad that the internet is making information so accessible, but other times I long for the way things were in the old days. I am not sure where the origins of my salsa recipe are. I have tried to find out but all I can find is numerous copies of the same recipe. If anyone knows where the original came from I would be excited to hear it. In case you haven’t seen the recipe before, here it is. Hope you like it.

First few pints of salsa, how pretty.

Wonderful Salsa

8 cups tomatoes

2-1/2 cup onions

1-1/2 cup green peppers

1 cup jalapeno pepper (seeds removed, cause I am a baby)

6 garlic cloves

2 teaspoons cumin

2 teaspoons pepper

1/8 cup salt (kosher)

1/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup vinegar

1 (15 oz can tomato sauce)

1 (12 oz can tomato paste

Blanch tomatoes in boiling water for 45 seconds, then plunge tomatoes into ice water bath for 2 minutes. Skins should slide off, Cut off bad spots and stems.

Chop all ingredients and put into large pot, boil for 10 minutes.

Place into sterilized jars, add 1 tablespoon lemon (for pint) or 2 tablespoon lemon juice (for quart) and place in water bath canner x 15 minutes for pints, 25 minutes for quarts.

*side note, I am aware that the picture is of pints. I started with pints but after realizing I was going to be canning all day, I switched to quarts to make it go quicker. If you make this recipe, it will make approximately 8 quarts, or 10 pints with some left over for your fridge*.

I usually eat salsa straight out of the jar with some chips, or else with some avocado on a whole wheat tortilla. My father-in-law likes it on eggs (boo). What do you guys do with your salsa?

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wonderful Salsa

  1. pobept says:

    Salsa is almost as good as a homemade hot sauce but chunky! I eat homemade hot sauce and salsa on or with almost everything from red beans, pinto beans, eggs fried, scrambled or omelets, with chips of all kinds, Burritos, Taco’s. There is no ‘wrong’ place to add salsa.

    Happy gardening

Leave a Reply

