How to can beets, but without the can

You’re canning without me?

I have been so bummed out this entire summer because I thought I had missed the boat on the beets. Now, I am not usually a fan of beets, but my mom scored me some canned beets last summer, and I cannot get them out of my mind. So, when the summer drought came on, I was devastated. Well, not like, “oh  my word I cannot go on devastated”, but still. Anyway, I went to the farmers market yesterday and what did I see, but the mother load of beets. I bought 2 whole boxes of them. Problem is, I did not research how to actually can the beets until today, and I realized that I cannot can beets in a water bath canner (which is the only canner I have)… Bummer. So, I did what any self-respecting canner would do… I ordered a pressure cooker today. Meanwhile, I have a whole mess of beets with nothing to do with them. I will eat some of them today on a salad (yummy), but the rest I have great plans for. (Side note, store beets in a paper bag in the fridge in the crisper and they will keep several days to a week. Store them in a plastic bag on the counter, and they will get slightly mushy in a hurry).  Who knew you can freeze them? Here’s how:

Beets, boiling. Be careful to add more water if needed.

First, wash them in cold water to get the grimy dirt of them. Then, place in a stockpot and boil them for about 40 minutes (until they are tender). Then place them in cold ice water to allow you to handle them without getting 3rd degree burns. The skins should just peel right off.

Slice in little slices and place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Then place in the freezer and you are done. In 2 hours, take off the cookie sheet and place in a freezer bag and place in the freezer to use on those cold winter nights when you are just aching for a summer salad. There you have it. What do you use your beets for?

Ready for freezing.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Garden, Harley and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

