Birthday Bliss

Hi all. I have celebrated my 33rd birthday last Sunday. I have had it pointed out that I have a great number of grey hairs, and I am not the spring chicken I once was.

I had the oddest birthday that I have had in a long while. It started out with working late on Friday and getting the frantic call from the hub asking “Um…did you ever renew your license and car tags?”. I had planned on just going to the Secretary of State on Saturday morning, cause, you know, I work and all…and I procrastinate. Apparently, there is only one Secretary of State open on this side of Michigan, and everyone wants to get there super early. I thought, no problem, I will just get there right when they open. Well, I walked in to a massive line with about 130 other people just waiting for a number to then wait in line. That’s right. I waited in line to get a number. Not good. All in all, I was there for only 45 minutes, so props to the Secretary of State workers in Grand Rapids, Mi. We took the boy with us. Look how excited he looks.

It was warm in the car so Nathan stayed with the boy. He’s not a big fan of one of us leaving the car to run errands.

Where do you think you are going?

We (as in I) wanted to go to the farmers market in Rockford to get some peaches and plums. We got almost there and noticed there was a 5K race for “Mitchells Run” which is a 3.2 mile run to benefit a guy named Mitchell. It is a really cool race and if you are in the area next year, you should totally run it. Anywho, needless to say, Rockford was BUSY! We elected to call it a day and left empty-handed before we even reached the farmers market. I was pretty bummed. We then went up to Cadillac and spent the day with the fam. My wonderful mother got half a bushel of peaches to can, and they were wonderful and very very juicy. We ended up coming home and freezing most of them. We ate our weight in peaches.

While up in Cadillac we wanted to shoot our handguns at my mom’s house. The neighbors ended up call the police. I have lived there all my life. Our family is very well-known to the neighbors. Later, the neighbors and my mother were talking, and the excuse of why they called the police was…wait for it…they were afraid I would come over and murder them. Really!? Why are people so afraid of guns? Do they not realize that it is not the gun that hurts people, it’s the actual person wielding the weapon?  People kill each other with cars everyday, but we don’t vilify the car. It’s so weird. Anywho, the police came and said that we actually weren’t doing anything wrong, so we could continue if we wanted. Since I am a good nice neighbor (and not a murderer, by the way), we packed it up so that the masses wouldn’t have to run screaming for the hills.

Enjoying the rays on the ride home.

On sunday, we went out and spent some time with the in-laws. It was a great birthday. My sister-in-law has a “birthday month” where she celebrates her birthday for an entire month, if not longer. What does anyone else do for their birthday?  Me personally, I like low-key.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

