What’s With all the Blueberries

Hi all. I am enjoying my official first day of vacation. I woke up bright and early this morning in a funk because the boy decided he wanted to get me up…at 6am…after I went to bed at midnight last night. He starts crying in the hallway outside of our room. If that doesn’t work, then he moves to my side of the bed and starts the high-pitched cry every few seconds. I say “It’s not time yet” and he lays down for approximately 5 minutes. It’s like a little snooze button. He then starts in again. Usually I get up and put him back in the hallway and close the door and that usually teaches him a lesson and he stops. Today, I just didn’t have it in me, and I let him just lay there and cry. After a while if the high-pitched cry doesn’t get you up, he starts in with the low whine that is more like a growl that is so low that you wonder if you hear it, or just feel the vibration in your rib cage. I finally told him to “shut up” in a rather stern voice…and what does he do…but go to Nathans side of the bed and start over again. I was so angry I could feel my blood boil. I threw back the covers, jumped out of bed, and stomped out to the living room. All the while, I am thinking “If you think I am going to feed you after that, you are mistaken”. After about 3 minutes of this face…

Please momma, I am so hungry I am feeling faint!

I finally gave in. I am such a push-over. We are going to have a talk with the boy before tomorrow morning!

On a happier note, I was already up, so I got dressed and went blueberry picking. I was thinking that I should wait until at least the end of the week because we are supposed to get rain the rest of the week, and I had heard that the blueberries would be non-existent due to the drought. I sucked it up and thought, well, at least I would drive out to see what the prospects were. Boy, am I so glad I did. There were such enormous blueberries.  I usually go here to Duke Creek Farms in Cedar Springs, MI. I was told that by this weekend, the blueberries will be in full bloom, but in just another week or two, they may be all gone. Its hard to imagine summer is just rushing by.

Obviously, they sell asparagus, Rhubarb and Blueberries 🙂  It is about 4 miles from my house and I love it. They have a little stand out by the road which always has blueberries, zucchini and asparagus when it is in season. You just put your money in the little coin box and you are on your way. If you want to pick your own, they are always there to give you pointers on which blueberries you want and which ones are not quite ready yet. I got there this morning bright and early at 8:30 am. It was shaping up to be a beautiful morning. The lady that runs the place took me out to her “favorite place” to start picking, which I have a sneaking suspicion that they are all her favorite places, but who is judging. I was right next to these older folks that talked on and on about their winter in Florida and what they were looking for in a vacation. It was a very cute conversation. Apparently, anything will do as long as you can get away from the grandkids 🙂

Look at all those handsome blueberries just ready for the picking

I was there for about 3 hours. I picked 30 pounds of blueberries. I couldn’t help it. I did not wear a watch and so when the older folks left, I wondered what time it was. I wasn’t thinking about how I am going to store these berries. Of course not. I also wasn’t thinking about how long it was going to take me to WASH these berries. All I kept thinking was “Man, I should probably leave. Maybe I should have brought more money. I only was planning on about 10 pounds of blueberries, I wonder how many I have here”. FYI: one bucket equals 6 pounds. They take cash and check. Only God knows what the heck you are going to do with 30 pounds of berries…..Also, you may have an irate husband when you come home with more berries that could ever fit in the freezer. We are barely recuperating our freezer space from the beef fiasco.

This is our freezer pre 30 pounds of berries. Where in the world am I going to put 30 POUNDS OF BLUEBERRIES you ask? Well, I am hoping my good neighbor Sarah will allow me to use her freezer for a week. Luckily, I have a chest freezer coming on Saturday. It cannot come soon enough!

So, drop me a comment and fill me in on what you do with blueberries. As far as I am concerned, its smoothie time!

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Garden, Harley, Summer Fun and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

