What doesn’t kill you….

This week has been eventful. I was waiting all week to tell you and I finally can get to a computer today. On Tuesday I was invited to do a boot camp workout. It took place at the Howard Christensen Nature Center in Cedar Springs. It was done by Megan from the YMCA and it was so fun. I knew I was in trouble the first 5 minutes when my legs were SCREAMING with fatigue, but I powered through and I am so glad I did. Don’t get me wrong, I couldn’t finish EVERY exercise but I hung in there the best I could and now I have something to work toward. It started with jogging around a mini “track” and sprinting every so often, then the workout alternated between lunges, squats, jumping up on stumps, arm workout, and jogging. I knew it would be tough but I was not prepared for what was to come. On Weds, I felt sore but pretty good. Then, on Weds night I knew I was in for it because I realized I could not get off the couch due to let fatigue. Today (Thurs) I literally had to tell my patients what happened to me because I could not move. I think I am loosening up so tomorrow should be a better day. I have been laying low for the last two days and just stretching. Tomorrow, I need to get out there and walk Harley because he is getting a little stir crazy.  He has been asking me to go outside all day.  The picture above is his “wanna go outside” face. Isn’t he cute.  I have to recuperate fast because I am going back next Tuesday for another session of boot camp. Just look at how pretty the Nature Center is here…

And here

and a little of here

These pictures are from last year as honestly, after the workout, I did not have it in me to take any pictures. Also, we have not had any rain and it is DRY!!

On a separate note, it has finally rained today. I was looking around and realized that it has not rained in several weeks if not months. I forgot what rain on the windows sounded like. It is a beautiful sound. Our grass and gardens are all dead but hopefully with this drowning, it will all come back to life. I am scheduled to take a vacation from work starting Saturday (except for a 4 hour stint Monday where I see one patient and have a meeting, but let’s not think about that right now) and I gather that it is going to rain all week. That is how my life works, naturally. I totally wanted to take Harley out for a walk, go quading and relax. We will see how it goes. For now, I am content sitting here and listening to the rain beat on the roof with the boy….

He is not liking it quite as much.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley, Summer Fun, workout and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

