Technology, Isn’t It Fun.

I am truly happy to start the weekend. We had such a busy week at the Hospital this week. The computer systems were down as well. Even the backup. We had to go without, or use the backup to the backup. It was a little insane. It’s funny how much creatures of habits we are. I remember when we all used paper charting, and we were so angry and resistant to using the computer. Now, 2 years later, the computer goes down, and it looks like a bomb went off in the hospital!  Everyone was very helpful and held it together though, so that was good. It could have been a disaster if people had not worked together.

Then, yesterday, I finally got to go back to Creswick Farms. Creswick Farms is an all natural meat farm. They raise chickens, beef, pork, and I think lamb. The little animals are allowed to wander and carry on happy healthy lives until it is time to send them to the butcher, then they do it in a humane way. I feel if you have to eat meat, then it should be done in the most humane way possible. Nathan has already said that we cannot go vegetarian. So, for now, this is a happy medium.  I went way overboard on the meat buying though, and now every time I open the freezer, frozen meat falls on your feet and tries to break your toes. Its an “at your own risk” sorta deal. The funny thing is that I have to drive an hour and a half out of the way to get to Creswick Farms and while I was there, they let me know that they actually come to the hospital (where I work every other week) once a week for a farmers market that is there, and I can just buy meat from them. Who knew!  On the way home, I got so very lost and it took me two and a half hours to get home. From now on, I will be letting them come to me. I tried to get pictures while I was there  but there were no animals near the store. That is better though because I always feel bad when the cows are there. I prefer to not know which animal my meat comes from. Denial is the best policy sometimes in such situations.

Today is already shaping up to be a wonderful day. It looks a little bit like rain which we drastically need. I called the blueberry farm down the road to see if the U-pick blueberries are ready and they said one more week, but picking will be sparse since there has been absolutely no rain. The farmers are all doing a good job keeping their fields somewhat green, but it has been a hardship for everyone around here. So, I am going to go out and weed some more of the garden today while it is cool and not raining. Then, I think I am off to buy a stand alone freezer for all this meat!  Then, back home for some bread making and BLT sandwiches. Doesn’t that sound nice?

I actually think I hear the first tinkling of rain on the roof….Apparently I will sit inside and listen to the rain with my cup of coffee this morning. That is also a good plan. Hope your weekend goes well.

PS. I wrote this yesterday but then my computer wouldnt upload the pictures. Isn’t that ironic!?

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Weekly Roundup and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

