Raspberry pie and monster gardening

I hope everyone had a great weekend. It was a busy one for us. On the 4th of July I went and picked raspberries and felt bad that I only got to pick 10 pints. So, bright and early Saturday I went back to Krupp Farms and picked another 10 pints. It took me forever (or at least it felt like it in 94 degree weather).  I came home, washed up all the raspberries, and then decided to make a pie. I have never made a raspberry pie so went to a blog that I know and trust…Jenna’s blog Eat, Live, Run and made the filling from her raspberry pie. I used my crust recipe and it turned out amazing. Then, the in-laws called and asked what we were doing. They decided to come over and my mother-in law and I played Euchre against Nathan and his dad. We took them on the first game but sadly lost on the second. I think they were cheating.  Anyhoo, we stayed up way past our bedtime, but it was a fun night.

How happy am I!!

Today, I ended up weeding the garden. It took me all day but I am finally making some progress. I decided to put down black garden matting to help decrease the amount of weeds that I will need to manage. Hopefully this does the trick. Today it was back to the grind at work. I had thought I would come home and do more gardening, but I took the day off.

Harley LOVED being out in the garden all day. He cried a little, cause he’s a bit of a crier, but he ended up cooling off in his pool and eating raw hide bones. He was surely reminiscing about the days at the park last year, but we will go there for sure next weekend.  It sure seems like his life is so much better than mine….I tell ya. I hope everyone has a great week.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Garden, Harley, Summer Fun and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

