Raspberry Jam and Zucchini Bread

Today turned out to not be what I expected at all. I had such high hopes of finishing the weeding in my vegetable garden, and picking raspberries. I had also hoped to sleep in a little. Well,  I woke up at 5:30 am to the sounds of the Harley boy crying…nonstop… After telling him to lie down about a hundred times, and getting only louder crying in response., I finally figured out he needed to go out and potty. Poor thing. So, after he was pottied, I attempted to get back to sleep for a little snoozer but it just wasn’t meant to be. So, I woke up, got dressed, and went to Krupp Farms to pick raspberries. I had meant to pick 20 pints, but the heat got the better of me and I ended up with only 10 pints before I had to call it quits. It was already 94 degrees by 9am. Holy smokes!

So, I came home, prepped all the raspberries, and made jam. I froze the rest for smoothies. Harley, Nathan and I could not help but eat some along the way. They were so good.  I cannot wait for smoothies. I may go back to the farm on Saturday and attempt to get another 10 pints, but we will see.

I did not make it out to the garden. It was just too hot to do anything outside, and I just watered instead. But, take a look at the garden. Holy weeds Batman!  I have to get out there. My little plants are suffocating. To make matters worse, I have a mole in the garden. Harley tried to do his part and catch it, but he couldn’t quite get him before he made it into the garden.  My Neighbor is on a quest to catch all things mole, so hopefully he gets him.

So, instead of weeding, I decided to make zucchini bread. It is currently in the oven, and we are waiting with bated breath.  I will let you know how it goes.  I hope everyone had a great Independence Day. Back to the grind tomorrow!

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Summer Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Raspberry Jam and Zucchini Bread

  1. Oksana says:

    I very much agree with you, labradors come in all shpaes and sizes. Our Bronson a 2 1/2 year old labrador is a little overweight and is gradually loosing that weight, but while loosing weight we are still getting comments that he is too big, he has to loose weight etc, etc. Many people fail to realise that like many others, Bronson is an English show breed Labrador, he is genetecially chunky. Like show budgies, show labs are bred for good size and chunkiness.

Leave a Reply

