Well hello there!

Sorry I have been gone so long. Life has gotten away from me a little bit. I have been super busy with work these past few months. I am not sure where the time has gone. I have waited all year to plant the garden and the time has finally arrived!  Here in Michigan, it has been such a weird Spring. It looked like summer in the middle of February with 90 degree days, and I almost planted my garden right then and there. My husband managed to talk some sense into me, and I fortunately waited because about 2 weeks later, it snowed. So, after months of anticipation and planning, I have finally gotten my garden in place. It is not photo ready quite yet, but soon. This is a picture from last year that I found when I was digging through my photo archives. Last year I was overrun with tomatoes but I had forgotten exactly how many plants I had planted. I vowed last year to scale back a little bit. However, I planted 25 tomato plants this year. I am in for it again, I am quite sure. The  only good thing is that I will be able to can lots of salsa…I love salsa….

My first attempt at gardening 2011. Just a little tomato heavy, don’t you think!

I digress. Anyway, this year, I have expanded my garden square footage, moved it away from the back fence (it was the bane of the hub’s existence to have to weed-eat that fence last year) and added something besides tomatoes.  I now am growing tomatoes, sweet corn, lettuce, swiss chard, onions, bell peppers, squash and eggplant. I did, however, still go overboard with the tomatoes. I had planted 30 plants before the hub made me tear out some. I am back to the 25. We will see how it goes. I hope everyone is enjoying this spring. I can feel good things coming this year. More pictures to come of the rapidly enlarging garden.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

