New Years Goals

I usually do not subscribe to the New Year’s Resolutions. Like most people, I find that when I make the common resolutions (eat less, exercise more, lose weight, blah, blah blah), I usually fail by the second week in January. So, instead, I make goals for myself. Here are some of my goals for 2012.

1. Take more pictures. Last year, I found that I really didn’t take any pictures to speak of. Whenever I would dust of my camera, I was amazed at how calming photography could be. The fun for me is to take the perfect picture and not change it with software. That is cheating to me. So, I would like to practice my photography and this is the perfect outlet to show my successes and failures. Of course, Harley will be a common theme, but I would also like to venture out into more uncharted territory.  Who knows, I might find myself with a new camera by the end of the year.

2. Find enjoyment in the little things.  Sometimes I forget to stop and “smell the roses” so to speak. I get a little too serious about things and become obsessed. This can lead to a one track mindset. So, I hope to find little things each day to help pace myself and slow me down.

3. Practice my green thumb. Last year was the first year that I had a garden. I grew tomatoes and peppers. I made tons of salsa and learned how to can. This year, I hope to expand my garden to include many other veggies and fruits as well. Of course, I will be canning it all and sharing my successes. Wish me luck.

4. Work goals. I would like to become more knowledgeable at work. I graduated almost 2 years ago and found a great job as a Nurse Practitioner. I still feel lost at times but mostly I have learned that there is always something to learn. I have come a long way and mostly feel comfortable with anything. I hope to continue learning and never become stagnant in my profession.

Well, that is it for now. I will leave you with a picture of a day at the park with Harley considering if he wants to take a swim or not. Keep in mind that I had expressely forbade him to jump in the water that day, as I had somewhere to be shortly after. He was considering his options and finally made the correct decision, although it was difficult for him.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

